While we wait on the Canadian Hockey League to determine their top goaltender, USA Hockey has named theirs and it’s a familiar face. Dustin Wolf has been named this year’s recipient of the Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year award.

From USA Hockey’s release:

The goaltender certainly proved as much this season with the Everett Silvertips in the Western Hockey League, and recently was recognized nationally when the Tustin, California native became the first-ever California native to win the 2020 Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year Award from USA Hockey.

“This is obviously a huge honor, especially with USA Hockey,” Wolf said. “I strive to be the best in everything I do, and to be awarded something like this is a testament to that hard work and dedication, and the amazing team that we had. It’s definitely a special honor and one that I take pride in.”

The Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year Award is selected from a pool of goaltenders who play at the junior level each year. The award is named in honor of the late Dave Peterson, a passionate leader of goaltender development, who twice coached the U.S. Olympic Men’s team.

Last season’s winner was Vegas Golden Knights prospect Isaiah Saville.

Previous winners include Cory Schneider (2004), Alex Stalock (2006), Jack Campbell (2010), John Gibson (2011), Charlie Lindgren (2013) and Cal Peterson (2014). So it’s not a guarantee that the winner makes the NHL, but it’s usually a good sign.

Wolf led the WHL in basically every goaltending-related statistical category this past season. He sined his entry level deal with the the Flames in early May.