It was arguably the best batch of skaters the NHL’s fastest skater competition held so we all knew Connor McDavid was in tough.

And this year, he got edged out in the competition as New York Islanders C Matthew Barzal skated the rink the quickest.

Barzal edged McDavid by only a tenth of a second to take this year’s title but wasn’t shy to give McDavid, a three-time winner of the race, credit as the league’s best skater. McDavid has won the competition three times in the past.

On Twitter: @zjlaing

This site makes use of cookies which may contain tracking information about visitors. By continuing to browse this site you agree to our use of cookies.