The Calgary Hitmen have an award-winner in their midst. 17-year-old forward Riley Fiddler-Schultz has been named the WHL’s annual recipient of the Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy, presented to the league’s top humanitarian player.

From the WHL’s announcement:

In his second season with the Hitmen, Fiddler-Schultz created his own community program coined Fidds Friends. This program brought kids registered with the Boys & Girls Club of Calgary to Hitmen games throughout the season. Attendees received tickets to a game, as well as parking and concession vouchers. Following each game, Fiddler-Schultz met with the kids as well as their guests for post-game photos and autographs. The program reached 60 participants throughout the regular season.

Riley’s contributions to the Boys & Girls Club of Calgary included playing ball hockey with the organization and helping to provide a positive role model for kids within the organization to look up to. One of these interactions included a participant in the Fidds Friends program who had aggressive tendencies. Since meeting Fiddler-Schultz, the participant’s behaviour has improved dramatically.

Initiating another event to give back to his community, Fiddler-Schultz collected donations for the Veterans Food Bank, filling the back of his father’s pick-up truck outside a local grocery store. Upon delivery of the items, he spent additional time with the organization to learn about their mission and how they operate.

Fiddler-Schultz also took the lead for the Hitmen in other community outreach programs. He volunteered with HEROSHockey, a program that uses the game of hockey to teach life skills and empower at-risk youth. He also participated in the Canadian Mental Health Association’s Talk Today Campaign to raise awareness regarding mental health.

In his first year of NHL Draft eligibility, Fiddler-Schultz was limited to 44 games due to injury and generated 19 points but he obviously contributed a ton off the ice.

He’s the third Hitmen to capture this honour, following Chris Nielsen (1999-2000) and Cody Sylvester (2012-13).