Today in 2006, the Edmonton Oilers scored three goals in the first 4:40 of the third period en route to a 5-4 victory over the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim in the conference finals.

Edmonton went on to build a 3-0 series lead over those Mighty Ducks having stolen two 3-1 road wins in Anaheim.

Toby Petersen kicked off the scoring for the Oilers at the 13:47 mark of the first period, a goal assisted by Rem Murray. It was the only tally of the game scored before an eight-goal third frame.

Michael Peca scored his fifth of the playoffs 2:19 into the third period, while Steve Staios and Chris Pronger answered with powerplay tallies at the 3:35 mark and 4:40 of the third.

Those Ducks showed some fight, however, as they roared back with three goals of their own between the 7:15 mark and the 11:15 mark that saw Sean O’Donnell, Teemu Selanne and Chris Kunitz find twine.

But it wasn’t enough. Despite Todd Marchant scoring with under two minutes left for Anaheim, Fernando Pisani’s tally at the 14:14 mark put the game out of reach.

Rexall Place went nuts with Dwayne Roloson facing 38 shots and Ducks goalie Ilya Bryzgalov.

There were some fisticuffs in that game, too, as Georges Laraque fought Todd Fedoruk twice (!). Once off a faceoff three minutes into the game, and later with 3:45 left in the game.

You can see both scraps below thanks to best friends of the Nation,

On Twitter: @zjlaing