The Vancouver Canucks have elected to pass on the second buyout window, according to The Athletic’s Thomas Drance.

The window was open for 24-hours and only applied to players on contracts with an AAV higher than $4-million, Drance reported.

The number of players that it could’ve been applied to was limited. Loui Eriksson, Brock Boeser, Bo Horvat, JT Miller, Brandon Sutter, Alex Edler, and Tyler Myers were the only players the club realistically could’ve used it on.

According to PuckPedia, the Canucks are currently $1.163-million over the cap after signing Adam Gaudette, Jayce Hawryluk and Jake Kielly in the last 10 days. This, however, doesn’t include any of the LTIR pool used either, which could change depending on the status of Michael Ferland ahead of next season.

On Twitter: @zjlaing