The Professional Hockey Writers Association has named Edmonton Oilers C Connor McDavid the mid-season winner of the Hart Trophy as the player most valuable to his team.

McDavid, 23, leads the league in assists with 49 and points with 76 points.

McDavid is a previous winner of the Hart trophy taking the award in 2016-17 where he scored 30 goals and 70 assists in the full 82 game season. He led the league in scoring with the next closest competitors being Sidney Crosby and Patrick Kane.

In a thread shared on his Twitter page Thursday, PHWA president and TSN reporter Frank Seravalli said McDavid edged Colorado Avalance C Nathan MacKinnon by a 58-45 margin.

This year, a total of 117 writers representing all 31 teams wrote ballots for 10 midseason awards that included the Hart Trophy, Norris Trophy, Calder Trophy, Lady Byng Trophy and Selke Trophy.

McDavid could’ve easily won another award too in the comeback player of the year award. His recovery we’re about to learn more about on Friday is nothing short of heroic. As Seravalli also mentioned on Twitter, voters didn’t learn about the seriousness of McDavid’s injury until the day ballots closed.

Here’s the full list of the midseason award winners:

Full results for the PHWA’s 2019-20 MIDSEASON NHL AWARDS:

Hart Trophy – to the player adjudged to be most valuable to his team.

1. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
2. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
3. David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins

Norris Trophy – to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in the position.

1. John Carlson, Washington Capitals
2. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
3. Dougie Hamilton, Carolina Hurricanes

Selke Trophy – to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

1. Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
2. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
3. Ryan O’Reilly, @St. Louis Blues

Calder Trophy – to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition.

1. Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche
2. Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks
3. Victor Olofsson, Buffalo Sabres

Lady Byng Trophy – to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

1. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
2. Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
3. Ryan O’Reilly, @St. Louis Blues

Vezina Trophy – to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.

1. Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets
2. Ben Bishop, Dallas Stars
3. Darcy Kuemper, Arizona Coyotes

Jack Adams Award – to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

1. Mike Sullivan, Pittsburgh Penguins
2. John Tortorella, Columbus Blue Jackets
3. Craig Berube, @St. Louis Blues

Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award – to the General Manager adjusted to have contributed most to his team’s success.

1. Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
2. John Chayka, Arizona Coyotes
3. Doug Armstrong, @St. Louis Blues

Rod Langway Award – to the defenseman who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.

1. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
2. Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
3. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators

Comeback Player of the Year Award – to the player who returned to a previous high level of performance that was interrupted by subpar play, long-term injury or major illness.

1. William Nylander, Toronto Maple Leafs
2. Anthony Duclair, Ottawa Senators
3. Max Pacioretty, Vegas Golden Knights

This site makes use of cookies which may contain tracking information about visitors. By continuing to browse this site you agree to our use of cookies.